Skip to content

Trinity School Governance

Transparency of Governance Information

In the interests of transparency, governing bodies are required to publish up-to-date details of their governance arrangements on the school website.  Please find below information relating to the Governors of Trinity School.  If you click on the individual Governors you will find details of their roles, dates of appointment, terms of office and any relevant business and pecuniary interests, including governance roles in other educational institutions and any close relationships with other Governors or school staff.

Senior Governors
The Chairman of Governors, who is also Chairman of the Academy Trust, Mr Armstrong, has an association with the school spanning many decades, as a pupil of the Creighton School, as a parent of past pupils at Trinity School and as a governor since the 1980s. He served as Vice Chairman for 15 years and was elected Chairman in May 2007.

There are two Joint Vice Chairs of Governors. Mr Leach, a long-standing Governor, was Vice Chair of Governors for many years and became Joint Vice Chair in September  2022. Mr Leach, a Legal Consultant, is retired and was former Managing Partner at Burnetts Solicitors. He chairs the Curriculum & Staffing Committee. Mr Turney became Joint Vice Chair of Governors in September 2022. He is the Chief Finance Officer for a charity and he chairs the Finance & General Purpose Committee.

Click on each Governor to find out more information about them.

Mr D B Armstrong

The Very Revd J Brewster

Mr T Leach

Mr P Turney

Mr A Hanson

Mr C Jefferson

Dr E Borlase

Appointed Governors
The other Governors on the school’s Governing Body are:

Mrs S Aglionby OBE

Mrs S Johnston

Mrs L Walkingshaw

Mrs S Boyd

Mrs D Libby

Mrs K Ward

Mr D Carter

The Revd Canon M Manley

Mr J Johnston

Mr P Uppard

Mr S McDermott resigned from the Governing Body effective 31st December 2023, having been a Governor for a number of years. He had been Chair of the Audit Committee and he was also a member of the F&GP Committee.

Parent Governors:
There are 2 Parent Governors on the school’s Governing Body.

Mr P Healy

Mr R Hill

Staff Governors
The Staff Governors on the school’s Governing Body are:

Dr I Barker

Mr D Samson

Ms L Wedderburn

Mrs A Wylie

The normal period of office is 4 years, although Governors can be re-appointed or elected again.

The work of the Governors is supported by the Secretary to the Academy Trust & Governing Body, Mrs Minns.

The Trinity Academy Trust

The members of the Trust are:

Mr D B Armstrong Chairman of Governors

Mr J Johnson, representing the Diocesan Board of Finance – Date Appointed: 28 November 2017

The Very Reverend J Brewster, Dean of Carlisle – Date Appointed: 30 September 2023

The Venerable V Ross, Archdeacon of Westmoreland and Furness and Archdeacon of Carlisle and Penrith Deaneries – Date Appointed: 9 November 2022

The Right Revd R Saner-Haigh, Acting Bishop of Carlisle and Bishop of Penrith – Date Appointed: 1 September 2023


Annual Report and Financial Statements

School Policies

Schools are required to have policies in place covering all aspects of the life and work of the school. Many are a legal requirement and others are recommended by the Department for Education (DfE). The Governing Body, together with the Senior Leadership Team, is responsible for the constant review of policies.

Parents/carers might find it helpful to know what policies are in place at Trinity School. The main areas of interest come under the headings of Pastoral, Curriculum and Premises. In addition the school does have policies that cover Leadership and Management, Staffing and Finance. For your information you will find on this website relevant Pastoral, Curriculum, Premises and Leadership and Management and Staffing Policies.

Skip to content